League of Legends: The Slow Descent

Three years ago, my best friend Tyler introduced me to the game League of Legends. Now, it was different than any other online game I’d played; I was used to first person shooters and RPGs. But games that took more strategy than “just shoot it!” were completely foreign. But three years ago isn’t where the descent into obsession started.

Two months ago, or something like that, the champion Gnar was released. Ok, now do the math. I’m a girl, Gnar is cute, of course I’m gonna play the game just to play Gnar.

A few levels later, I was hooked. I don’t know what it was. The first time I tried League, I didn’t want to have anything to do with it. I was tossed into the game not knowing the strategies or…well, the whole point of the game in the first place. But this time was different.

I’d watched streams, studied items and champions, watched Tyler play. A lot. I prepared myself, and all for this one adorable champion in a dinosaur suit. And it was worth it. Now I know how to tank, which champions counter which, how to build sets depending on the champion, and that auto casting exhaust and ignite is sooooo much more convenient when you’re being chased out of lane.

Granted, I’m still not the best. I’m as much of a noob as any new player, so if you play with me, don’t expect something amazing. Really. I’m bad. But I enjoy it, and that’s what counts, right?

So I’m writing this to let you know that if you ever get discouraged by a game, you’ll probably become obsessed with it three years later.

Leave a Reply

